

## **Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability**

## **REGULAR MEETING MINUTES**

## July 15, 2020, 1:30 P.M. Chesapeake Event Center at the Oklahoma History Center 800 Nazih Zuhdi Dr. Oklahoma City, OK 73105

COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT:	Dr. Joanna Lein, Katherine Nations, Kenneth Parker, Ryan Walters, John Daniel and Brett MacArthur
COMMISSION MEMBERS ABSENT:	Secretary Michael Rogers
OTHER REGULAR ATTENDEES:	Office of Educational Quality and Accountability Staff: Dr. Daniel Craig, Abby Murphey, Jerry Shay, Angie Bookout, Lecrecia Schmidt and Jennifer Gambrell
VISITORS:	Dr. Bo Hannaford, Northwestern Oklahoma State University; Dr. Christee Jenlink, Northwestern Oklahoma State University; Dr. Phyllis Isaacs, East Central University; Dr. Jerry Mihelic, East Central University; Dr. Vanessa Anton, Northeastern State University; Dr. Jessica Koch, East Central University

Call to Order: Mr. Walters called the meeting to order at 1:30 P.M.

Page 1 of 3

Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability 840 Research Parkway, Suite. 455 Oklahoma City, OK 73104 • (405) 522-5399 **Introduction of Commission Members and Roll Call:** Mr. Walters asked for the roll call to be taken. Six Commission members were present, and it was established that a quorum existed.

Welcome from Dr. Daniel Craig: Dr. Daniel Craig, OEQA Executive Director, welcomed everyone to the meeting.

**Approval of Minutes from the March 11, 2020 Commission Meeting:** Dr. Lein made a motion to approve the minutes of the March 11, 2020 Commission meeting as submitted. Mr. MacArthur seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel:	approve	Ms. Nations:	approve
Dr. Lein:	approve	Mr. Parker:	approve
Mr. MacArthur:	approve	Mr. Walters:	approve
Secretary Rogers:	absent		

**Discussion and Action on Continued State Accreditation for East Central University:** Dr. Lein made a motion to continue State Accreditation for East Central University for seven years. Mr. Walters seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel:	approve	Ms. Nations:	approve
Dr. Lein:	approve	Mr. Parker:	approve
Mr. MacArthur:	approve	Mr. Walters:	approve
Secretary Rogers:	absent		

**Discussion and Action on Continued State Accreditation for Northwestern Oklahoma State University.** Mr. Walters made a motion to continue State Accreditation for Northwestern Oklahoma State University for seven years. Dr. Lein seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel:	approve	Ms. Nations:	approve
Dr. Lein:	approve	Mr. Parker:	approve
Mr. MacArthur:	approve	Mr. Walters:	approve
Secretary Rogers:	absent		

**Program Updates:** Dr. Craig gave updates on 2019 Profiles and the Jobs for America's graduates, JAG-Oklahoma program.

New Business: None

## Announcements and Informational Items: None

The meeting adjourned at 3:09 P.M. The minutes of the July 15, 2020 regular meeting of the Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability were approved (circle one)

Page 2 of 3

as submitted

with corrections

on October 21, 2020.

Signed:

Secretary Ryan Walters

Dr. Daniel Craig, Executive Director

Page 3 of 3